Metro Goes Country and more Dierks Bentley

Monday, 13 December 2021.

Yesterday my pa introduced me to Metro’s Eleven Days From Christmas. Apparently Les Pavelick (better known by his stage name Metro) was an entertainer from the Canadian province of Saskatchewan, famous in said province for his Ukrainian persona and comedy tunes. After listening to the Christmas album, I came across his country album on YouTube!

It contains parodies of famous country songs including Hank Williams’ “Jambalaya (On The Bayou)”, Merle Haggard’s “Okie From Muskogee”, and Roger Miller’s “King Of The Road”. Quite funny and quite stupid. I did genuinely enjoy the instrumentation and classic country style. Definitely entertaining!

While driving around today I listened to The Essential Waylon Jennings disc one. “Freedom To Stay” stood out like some kind of a bullet from the heavens. Holy fuck is it a good song!

In the evening I went to my work for a couple of beers. The bartender ended the night by putting on Dierks Bentley. “Somewhere On A Beach” is probably his second most recognizable song to me. And gee, this is quite the music video 😀

Yeehaw!

Published by nox1990

Just a guy with dreams of opening a brewpub one day! For now I'll stick to home-brew and tasting notes!

One thought on “Metro Goes Country and more Dierks Bentley

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started